New South Wales planning to install 1,000 charging bays by 2027

Great news for EV drivers in Australia. The government of New South Wales, Australia, has just released details for its electric vehicle charging masterplan. The plan aims to install 1,000 ultra-fast charging bays along major routes by 2027. This will be the biggest EV charging network of any state or territory in Australia.

When unveiling the detailed master plan yesterday the transport minister Andrew Constance said the state was also hoping to unlock around $160 million in private investment.

State co-funding will be provided through four tender rounds to reach said 1,000 charging bays across the state by 2027. Tenderers will have two years to complete their installations.

The government has yet to define the term charging bay, i.e., a minimum number of charging columns per site. The stations have to be ready to deliver 350 kW, however.

Energy and environment minister Matt Keans, the first minister in Australia to drive an EV, added, “We will also ensure all Government-funded charging stations are powered with renewable energy.”

New South Wales has identified five renewable energy zones in the state and says these will help guide and select the best sites for wind, solar, and storage projects. According to the government, the first two zones have already attracted more than 60 GW of project proposals.

Accompanying the tender is also an ​open-access map designed to help investors identify “optimal locations” for electric vehicle fast-charging infrastructure and assess applications for EV charging grants. The interactive map includes data on electricity supply, traffic volumes, points of interest and projected demand for chargers over the next ten years.

See also  Spain's Iberdrola planning to launch 450 Electric Charging stations in Spain and Portugal

If all goes to plan, the new ultra-rapid chargers will boost the state’s existing charging network by more than 300%.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *